

Concordia Student Union - Council of Representatives CSU Special Council Meeting Wednesday, June 03, 2020 Via Zoom, 18h30

1. CALL TO ORDER

The chairperson calls the meeting to order at 18h35.

We would like to begin by acknowledging that Concordia University is located on unceded Indigenous lands. The Kanien'kehá:ka Nation is recognized as the custodians of the lands and waters on which we gather today. TiohEá:ke/Montreal is historically known as a gathering place for many First Nations. Today, it is home to a diverse population of Indigenous and other peoples. We respect the continued connections with the past, present, and future in our ongoing relationships with Indigenous and other peoples within the Montreal community.

2. ROLL CALL

Council Chairperson: Sarah Mazhero Council Moderator: Daniel Amico Council Minutes Keeper: Michelle Lam

Executives present for the meeting were: Isaiah Joyner (General Coordinator), Sarah Mazhero (Academic & Advocacy Coordinator), Eduardo Malorni (Student Life Coordinator), Victoria Pesce (External Affairs & Mobilization Coordinator), Daniel Amico (Internal Affairs Coordinator), Manuella Simo (Sustainability Coordinator), Malcolm Asselin (Loyola Coordinator)

Councilors present for the meeting were: Natalia Whiteley (Gina Cody School of Engineering), Tzvi Hersh Filler (Gina Cody School of Engineering), James Hanna (Gina Cody School of Engineering), Desiree Blizzard (Gina Cody School of Engineering), Anais Gagnon (Gina Cody School of Engineering), Paige Beaulieu (Arts & Science), Shaun Sederoff (Arts & Science), Roman Golubkov (Arts & Science), Christopher Vaccarella (Arts & Science), Christopher Kalafitidis (Arts & Science), Marlena Valenta

(Arts & Science), Matthew Kaminski (John Molson School of Business), Ahmadou Sakho (Arts & Science), Margot Berner (Arts & Science), Lauren Perozek (John Molson School of Business), Howard Issley (John Molson School of Business), Chealsea Okankwu (John Molson School of Business), Matthew Benzrihem (Arts & Science), Danielle Vandolder Beaudin (John Molson School of Business), Diana Lukic (Fine Arts), Harrison Kirshner (John Molson School of Business), Arieh Barak (Independent), S Shivaane (Arts & Science), Sarah Bubenheimer (Arts & Science), Zach Williams (Independent)

Executives absent for the meeting were: Holly Mark-Hilton (Finance Coordinator)

Councilors absent for the meeting were: Jeremya Deneault (John Molson School of Business), Jarrad Haas (Fine Arts), and Yasmine Yahiaoui (Arts & Science)

Tzvi Hersh Filler moves to excuse Jeremya Deneault, Jarrad Haas, Yasmine Yahiaoui, and Holly Mark-Hilton. Seconded by Ahmadou Sakho. Motion carries.

3. APPOINTMENT OF CHAIRPERSON

Sarah Mazhero motions to go into closed sessions. Seconded by S Shivaane. Motion carries.

Christopher Kalafatidis moves to add the following questions to the list of interview questions:

- What do you see the role of the chairperson being outside and inside council meetings in conflict resolutions?
- And, now that we're having Zoom meetings for council, what changes would you make as Chairperson to modify?

Seconded. Motion carries.

James Hanna moves to amend question five to replace *Hillel Concordia* to [CSU Club]. Seconded. Motion carries.

S Shivaane motions to approve the interview questions. Seconded by **Isaiah Joyner.** Motion carries.

Christopher Kalafatidis moves to allow all councilors to get one opportunity to speak at the end of the interviews, at a maximum of two minutes each. Seconded by **Roman Golubkov**. Motion carries.

Isaiah Joyner moves to amend that executives can weigh in. Seconded by **Ahmadou Sakho**. Motion carries.

Ahmadou Sakho moves to bring Sean Howard into the council for the interview. Seconded by **Malcolm Asselin**. Motion carries.

Ahmadou Sakho moves to bring Caitlin Robinson into the council for the interview. Motion carries.

Councilors and Executives in alphabetical order share their thoughts on the two candidates.

Ahmadou Sakho moves to vote through a secret ballot and to give the chair and moderator ten minutes to create the method of voting. Seconded by **Desiree Blizzard**. Motion rescinded.

Ahmadou Sakho moves to change the method of voting to councilors privately messaging the moderator their votes. Seconded by **S Shivaane**. Motion carries.

By secret ballot, **Caitlin Robinson** is appointed.

S Shivaane moves to appoint Caitlin Robinson as the 2020-2021 CSU Chairperson. Seconded. Motion carries.

4. ADJOURNMENT

Matthew Kaminski moves to adjourn the meeting. Seconded. Motion carries.

Meeting adjourned at 20h44.