

Concordia Student Union – Council of Representatives

CSU Special Council Meeting – Agenda Thursday, January 23, 2019 CSU Conference Room, 11h30, S.G.W. Campus

Updated Agenda

- 1. Call to Order
- 2. Roll Call
- 3. Bylaw Amendment to Referendum (closed session)
- 4. Adjournment

Meeting officially called by CSU General Coordinator Christopher Kalafatidis as per By- Law 6.6.3

1. CALL TO ORDER

Chris Kalafatidis calls meeting to order at 11h31.

Chris Kalafatidis moves to appoint Rory Blaisdell as Temporary Chair for Special Council Meeting. Seconded by **Mathew Levitsky-Kaminski**.

Unanimously approved.

We would like to begin by acknowledging that Concordia University is located on unceded Indigenous lands. The Kanien'kehá:ka Nation is recognized as the custodians of the lands and waters on which we gather today. TiohEá:ke/Montreal is historically known as a gathering place for many First Nations. Today, it is home to a diverse population of Indigenous and other peoples. We respect the continued connections with the past, present, and future in our ongoing relationships with Indigenous and other peoples within the Montreal community.

2. ROLL CALL

Council Chairperson: Rory Blaisdell Council Minute Keeper: S Shivaane

Executives present for the meeting were: Chris Kalafatidis (General Coordinator), Patrick Quinn (Academic & Advocacy Coordinator), Marin Algattus (Internal Affairs Coordinator), Eduardo Malorni (Student Life Coordinator).

Councilors present for the meeting were: Menachem Israily (Independent), Hannah Jamet-Lange (Arts & Science), Salman Fahim Syed (Gina Cody School of Engineering & Computer Science), Leigh Kusaj (Arts & Science), Selena Mezher (Gina Cody School of Engineering & Computer Science), Tzvi Hersh Filler (Gina Cody School of Engineering & Computer Science), Sean Howard (Gina Cody School of Engineering & Computer Science), Peter Zhuang (Fine Arts), Mitchell Schecter (John Molson School of Business), Mathew Levitsky-Kaminski (John Molson School of Business), Victoria Pesce (John Molson School of Business), James Hanna (Gina Cody School of Engineering & Computer Science), Naomi Barney Purdie (Arts & Science).

Executives absent for the meeting were: Celeste-Melize Ferrus (Loyola Coordinator), Isaiah Joyner (External & Mobilization Coordinator), Désirée Blizzard (Finance Coordinator).

3. BYLAW AMENDMENT TO REFERENDUM

Chris Kalafatidis moves to go into Closed Session. Seconded by Tzvi Hersh Filler.

Chris Kalafatidis presents the following motion. Seconded.

WHEREAS the following question was brought to referendum in November:

Do you support giving all faculties equal representation on the Council of Representatives by changing the structure to three Arts seats, three Science seats, three Gina Cody seats, three JMSB seats, three Fine Arts seats, and one Independent Student seat?

WHEREAS the members of the CSU voted yes to the referendum question by 70.1% [(Yes 2927 (70.1%); No 1246 (29.9%)];

WHEREAS S 6.3(g) requires the Council of Representatives to enact policies and resolutions that bring the Student Union into alignment with the results of referenda;

BE IT RESOLVED that the Council of Representatives first exercise their authority in S 21.1 to amend (replace and repeal) the sections of the bylaws and letter's patent indicated in the attached document;

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that, as required by S 21.1, the members then vote on these amendments in referendum during the March 2020 Annual General Elections;

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that these amendments go into force and effect <u>only after</u> they have been approved by the members in referendum, therefore the new council composition will first be used during the March 2021 Annual General Elections.

Victoria Pesce moves to make an amendment. Seconded by **Amman**. **BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED** to have an amendment on the legal document from 3 to 6 seats.

Patrick Quinn moves to challenge the chair. Seconded.

VOTE

For: 6 Opposed: 3 Passes.

VOTE

For: 1

Opposed: 7

Amendment is out of order.

Leigh Kusaj moves to update the reflected chart to include independent students and the correct year and. Seconded.

Mathew Levitsky-Kaminski calls to question. Seconded.

VOTE (to call question)

For: 6 Opposed: 4 *Carries*

VOTE

For: 9 Opposed: 1 Abstention: 3 Carries.

Peter Zhuang's opposition is noted.

Leigh Kusaj, Hannah Jamet-Lange and Victoria Pesce's abstentions noted.

4. ADJOURNMENT

Chris Kalafatidis motions to adjourn. Seconded.

Council adjourns at 12h25.